Louis Copeland Launches Special Tailors’ Hall Fund

6th May 2009
Press Release

Ireland’s Master Tailor Louis Copeland has launched an effort to help save the historic Tailors’ Hall. An Taisce headquarters, the Tailors’ Hall in Christchurch is the only remaining guild hall in Dublin and has played a fascinating role in the lives of Dubliners for more than 300 years. Dating back officially to 1706, the Hall has been central in several events in Irish history: it was the meeting hall for the Dublin Tailors as well as other guilds - hosiers, tanners, saddlers, and barber surgeons; was used at various times for balls, entertainments, and musical performances; functioned as an army barracks and also a courthouse; and served as a rallying point in 1792 for Wolfe Tone and the Catholic Committee of the United Irishmen prior to the 1798 Rebellion.

The cost of maintaining the Tailors’ Hall and its treasures, restoring the building to pristine condition and fitting it with renewable energy features that will lessen the building’s carbon emissions is a great one for a charity to handle on its own. To help, Louis Copeland has launched the Tailors’ Hall Fund together with An Taisce and appealed to Irish retailers to help preserve this great symbol of Irish heritage. If you’d like to help, contact Christina Wurschy at 01-707-7068 or fundraising@antaisce.org.

Local Association: