Members must register to attend the Annual General Meeting of An Taisce by Zoom on Saturday, June 24th at 11am.


President of An Taisce Election

Fr Sean McDonagh will convene our Annual General Meeting for the last time as President of An Taisce. We thank Sean for his many years of service to An Taisce as President. 

Sean is a Columban missionary priest and eco-theologian who advised the Vatican on the first draft of ‘Laudato Si: On Care for Our Common Home’, Pope Francis’ ground-breaking encyclical on the environment. His recent book On Care for Our Common Home takes the encyclical’s full text and adds Sean's reflections on its various themes, including climate change, biodiversity, water scarcity and the food crisis. He received a master's degree in Anthropology from the Catholic University in Washington DC in 1975. 

Following the election of a new President at the AGM, Sean will take his seat on Council as the immediate Past President. 

Members should send nominations for suitably qualified candidates for the role of President to the Secretary, Stuart McCaul, by email to [email protected].  

The President's role is described in the Constitution. It is largely ceremonial. Their primary function is to chair General Meetings of the charity, where they carry the power to make some important decisions. They are also a member of Council. 

Candidates for President so far:

  • Mr Philip Kearney - nominated by the Board of Trustees. Biography.

Council Election

Council provides an important forum for leaders of the environmental and heritage movement to collaborate and develop joined-up policy. Council also oversees the Board of Trustees of An Taisce and meets five times each year.

Several Council seats are to be filled at this AGM due to many current members reaching their maximum term limits. Therefore, Council needs lots of new people to step up now.

Members should send nominations for suitably qualified candidates for Council to the Secretary, Stuart McCaul, by email to [email protected]. Candidates may be nominated by themselves or another member.

Candidates for Council so far:

  • Nick Armstrong, for re-election
  • Eric Conroy, for re-election
  • Sinead Mercier
  • Áine O'Gorman
  • V'cenza Cirefice
  • Miriam Mooney
  • Patrick Bresnihan

Short biographies to follow.


  1. Motion to improve the representation of Policy Committees and Local Areas nationally on Council. Details.
  2. Motion to provide a pathway for Local Associations that cannot reliably form a quorate committee. Details.
  3. Motion to create Council seats in perpetuity for Past Presidents. Details.
  4. Motion to include certain wording about our raison d'être in publications. Details.

Annual Report

Members will review and discuss the 2022 Annual Report at the AGM. Our auditor will present the 2022 accounts and answer any questions from members. 

Further Information

Members will also review and approve the draft minutes of the 74th AGM.

The new AGM Standing Orders and the Constitution of An Taisce govern the conduct of our AGMs.

This formal notice for this AGM has been emailed or posted to each member. 

This page will be regularly updated with election candidates and other information that members need for the AGM. 

16 days 22 hours 0 mins 13 secs to go!