International Accreditation for Park Excellence in Ireland has jumped again this year, during a season which has seen massive park visitor increases everywhere. Ireland notably achieves a huge increase in urban park Green Flag accreditations across Dublin, Galway, and Waterford Cities.

Today also saw the further expansion of the scheme to include new types of public green spaces. In Waterford the country’s first Greenway was accredited, and in Cavan a UNESCO Global Geopark become a Green Flag Award Site for the first time.

Numbers of International Green Flag Award Sites for the best parks and gardens to visit in Ireland have surged again this year. New green flag parks and gardens, accredited by teams of trained volunteer judges, include for the first-time sites from Counties Cavan, Donegal, and Waterford.

Only awarded for exceeding tough environmental standards in green space management, and excellence of visitor attractions – the Green Flag Award for Parks is the mark of a quality park or green space and is recognised throughout the world.

The full list of the 2020 Green Flag Award winning parks within the Republic of Ireland is as follows:

2020 Green Flag Awards:

  • Abbeyfeale Community Leisure Ltd - Páirc Cois Féile / Abbeyfeale Park
  • Cavan County Council - Cavan Burren Park
  • Clare County Council - John O’Sullivan Park / Tim Smythe Park / Vandeleur Walled Gardens
  • Donegal County Council - Barrack Hill Town Park
  • Dublin City Council - Albert College Park / Blessington Street Park / Bushy Park / Father Collins Park / Herbert Park / Markievicz Park / Poppintree Park / Saint Anne's Park / Saint Audoen's Park / Saint Patrick's Park / Weaver Park
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council - Blackrock Park / Cabinteely Park / Marlay Park / People’s Park
  • Fingal County Council - Ardgillan Demesne / Malahide Demesne / Millennium Park / Newbridge House and Farm / Santry Demesne / Saint Catherine’s Park
  • Galway City Council - Children’s Millennium Park / Quinncentennial Park
  • Kerry County Council - Childers Park & Woodlands / Tralee Town Park
  • Kildare County Council - Liffey Linear Park, Newbridge
  • Laois County Council - Páirc an Phobail, Portlaoise / Peoples' Park, Portarlington
  • Limerick Council - The Peoples Park, Limerick
  • Longford County Council - The Mall
  • Louth County Council - Blackrock Community Park / Ice House Hill Park / Saint Helena Park / Saint Dominic’s Park
  • Maynooth University / Saint Patrick’s College - Maynooth Campus
  • Mayo County Council - Jackie Clarke Collection Heritage Garden / Turlough Park
  • NPWS - Connemara National Park / Killarney House and Gardens / Wild Nephin Ballycroy National Park
  • National University of Ireland Galway - National University of Ireland Galway Campus
  • North Mayo Heritage Centre - Enniscoe
  • Offaly County Council - Lloyd Town Park Tullamore
  • OPW - Castletown Demesne / Derrynane Historic Park / Fota Arboretum & Gardens / Garinish Island / Grangegorman Military Cemetery / Irish National War Memorial Gardens / The Iveagh Gardens / The Phoenix Park / Saint Stephen's Green
  • Sport Ireland National Sports Campus - Sport Ireland Campus
  • South Dublin County Council - Corkagh Park / Rathfarnham Castle Park / Sean Walsh Park / Tymon Park / Waterstown Park
  • Waterford City and County Council - Kilbarry Nature Park / Waterford Greenway
  • Westmeath County Council - Mullingar Town Park
  • Wexford County Council - Pearse Park, New Ross / The New Ross Library Park
  • Wicklow County Council - Glendalough Cemetery

Green Heritage Site Accreditation:

  • OPW - Irish National War Memorial Gardens

2020 Green Flag Community Awards:

  • County Carlow - Bagenalstown Town Park
  • County Donegal - The River Walk Dungloe
  • Fingal (North County Dublin) - The Rock Garden
  • County Galway - Headford Community Garden / Headford Community Orchard / Ballyglunin Railway Restoration Project
  • County Kildare - Zero Waste Community Garden
  • County Mayo - Ballina Karen Community Garden / Ballyhaunis Community Garden / Kilmaine Community Garden
  • County Meath - Julianstown Community Garden
  • County Roscommon - Knockvicar Organic Garden / Ballaghaderreen Community Garden
  • County Wexford - Le Chéile Park

2020 Pollinator Project Award:

OVERALL WINNER: Maynooth University / Saint Patrick’s College - Maynooth Campus

Category Winners:

  • Country Park: OPW: Castletown Demesne
  • Town Park: Maynooth University / Saint Patrick’s College Maynooth Campus
  • Walled Garden: OPW - Victorian Walled Garden, The Phoenix Park
  • Community Award: County Galway - Headford Community Orchard
  • Highly Commended / Special Award:
    • Dublin City Council - Saint Anne's Park
    • Fingal County Council - Millennium Park
    • Waterford City and County Council - Kilbarry Nature Park